Materials Testing

Material testing can consist of performing a simple tensile or hardness test to a cyclic fatigue test.  A tensile test will determine the yield strength, ultimate tensile strength, elongation and the reduction of area.  A cyclic fatigue test is used to determine crack initiation and to determine fatigue life as well as to validate new materials and processes.   Fracture mechanics testing consists of 3 basic tests, LCF test for crack initiation, Fatigue Crack Growth Rate da/dN test for how fast a crack will grow before becoming unstable and a Fracture Toughness test to determine the stress intensity factor before the crack becomes unstable and there is a catastrophic failure.  Industries served are Aerospace, Medical Device, Oil & Gas and transportation.  Understanding physical properties of materials and components provides for a more reliable and safer product.

Tensile Testing

Compression Testing

Fracture Toughness

Axial Fatigue (HCF and LCF)

ASTM Standards

Click on the test name to view the test description and an example of test results.

Standard #

Test Name


Standard Test Method for Linear-Elastic Plane-Strain Fracture Toughness of Aluminum Alloys